Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 awarded to three US-based professors
Apratim Chatterjee, 04 Oct 2016

Three US based professors have won the Nobel Prize 2016 in Physics for their theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter.


David J. Thouless (University of Washington), F. Duncan M. Haldane (Princeton University) and J. Michael Kosterlitz (Brown University) were announced Nobel Prize winners in Physics at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Tuesday, October 4, 2016. While one half of the Nobel Prize was awarded to David Thouless, the second half would be shared between Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz.

This year’s Physics Laureates have opened the door to an unknown world where matter can assume strange states. They have used advanced mathematical methods to study unusual phases, or states, of matter, such as superconductors, superfluids or thin magnetic films.


The three British-born professors Michael Kosterlitz and David Thouless, in the early 1970’s, had overturned the then current theory that superconductivity or suprafluidity could not occur in thin layers. They demonstrated that superconductivity could occur at low temperatures and also explained the mechanism, phase transition that makes superconductivity disappear at higher temperatures.

Stay tuned to for more news and updates on Nobel Prize 2016

Admissions Open Now

Xavier University Bhubaneshwar - XUB
Xavier University Bhubaneshwar - XUB
View All Application Forms
Never miss exam and college updates Login

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
23,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books