Nobel Peace Prize 2015 goes to Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet for building pluralistic democracy
Apratim Chatterjee, 09 Oct 2015
Applications Open Now
UPES B.Sc Admissions 2020

The Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet has won the Nobel Peace Prize for 2015 for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011.

The Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet was formed in the summer of 2013 when the democratization process was in danger of collapsing as a result of political assassinations and widespread social unrest. The Norwegian Nobel Committee, who awards the Nobel Peace Prize annually, said that it established an alternative, peaceful political process at a time when the country was on the brink of civil war. “The National Dialogue Quartet was instrumental in enabling Tunisia, in the space of a few years, to establish a constitutional system of government guaranteeing fundamental rights for the entire population, irrespective of gender, political conviction or religious belief,” said the Committee during the greeting Ceremony at Oslo, Norway.

The National Dialogue Quartet comprises four key organizations in Tunisian civil society – the Tunisian General Labour Union (UGTT, Union Générale Tunisienne du Travail), the Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts (UTICA, Union Tunisienne de l’Industrie, du Commerce et de l’Artisanat), the Tunisian Human Rights League (LTDH, La Ligue Tunisienne pour la Défense des Droits de l’Homme) and the Tunisian Order of Lawyers (Ordre National des Avocats de Tunisie).

These organizations represent different sectors and values in Tunisian society: working life and welfare, principles of the rule of law and human rights. On this basis, the Quartet exercised its role as a mediator and driving force to advance peaceful democratic development in Tunisia with great moral authority. “The Nobel Peace Prize for 2015 is awarded to this Quartet, not to the four individual organizations as such,” said Kaci Kullman Five, Chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee in the award announcement ceremony.


 “More than anything, the prize is intended as an encouragement to the Tunisian people, who despite major challenges have laid the groundwork for a national fraternity which the Committee hopes will serve as an example to be followed by other countries,” added the Norwegian Nobel Committee officials.


The Nobel in Peace in 2014 was awarded to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.

Stay tuned to for more news and updates on Nobel Prizes 2015

Never miss exam and college updates Login
The question have been saved in answer later, you can access it from your profile anytime. Access now

Download the Careers360 App on your Android phone

Regular exam updates, QnA, Predictors, College Applications & E-books now on your Mobile

Careers360 App
150M+ Students
24,000+ Colleges
500+ Exams
1500+ E-books